Take a chance, do something scary!

I have been enjoying Periscope so much lately. There are a few people that I really try to catch their shows, live (if ever possible) and on replay if not. One of those is MacKenzie Monroe (@BOLDTurquoise) and her Cultivating the Lovely Show. I really enjoy the daily chats she has they bring so many insights and encouragements. This past Friday she extended a challenge of “Smiling at your kids” it is sometimes easy to get caught up in the overwhelming day to day chaos and our kids sometimes add to that. Her challenge was meant to put on that happy face a little more even if you don’t feel it right then.

My kids were not giving me reason for feeling overwhelmed but I wanted to take this challenge where I could. This morning I just decided to get Connor (my 3- year) old outside to ride his bike. He has been asking all weekend to get out there (always at the time when we are getting ready to go to bed, eat dinner or other inopportune times). I had gone upstairs to get myself ready, grabbed his clothes and came back down, told him to get his clothes on we have something to do. He (I swear he can read my mind sometimes), got very excited and said “We go ride my BIKE!”, yup buddy we are. We headed out and I let him decide which direction we would go, he decided to go right at the end of our street, this direction gives us more places to go and farther. Just a few minutes in our trek I thought, let’s see how far we can go, we both needed the time outside and it was a great morning (not yet too warm at 8 am).

We pushed along and made it all the way to the schools and played on the playground for a bit. The schools are 1 mile away from our house, a bit of a hilly trek as well. He was so excited to be on the playground, he was running around doing everything he could. He was very brave and climbed up really high to slide down a pole. He was clearly scared but so excited when he did it, he had to get up and do it again, and again, you get where I am going with this.

You see, this is not just a story about Connor doing something scary and having a great time because of it, it is about me too. In the spring before I really started to workout in the mornings, I never would have made it all the way to the school playground, maybe half way. I wasn’t sure if we would have to call my husband to come pick us up after the playground or if we would make it back on our own, but I was willing to take that chance. I surpassed my own doubts and not only did we both make it to the playground, we played and had an amazing time, I got to see a really great smile from one of my children and it was worth every achy muscle I have right now.

The trip home really went better than the trip to the playground. I think I had to chase Connor down a few times because he was riding his bike faster than I was walking. When we got back to the house, he just couldn’t contain himself, he was so excited to tell Daddy about where we went. My husband was shocked to hear that we had made it that far as well. I was so proud of myself for pushing past the limits I thought were there.

Have you done something lately to push yourself past the limits you thought you had? You might be surprised to find that limit doesn’t exist.

20150907_083021 20150907_083434 20150907_084001

Leave a Reply

