Inspiring Words Go a Long Way

I woke up this morning and though I initially felt too tired and I REALLY did not want to leave my bed, I got up. I was able to enjoy a bit of peace (just a few minutes) before the chaos of the day began and I reminded myself of the events of last night.

I was getting my clothes ready for the next day when I was just sick of the pants I had, they were (thankfully!) getting too big and just felt so worn out. I was really ready to wear something new. I have been holding off buying new clothes because I am working on my size (we are not talking numbers here, they are only part of the story). I reached for the section of pants I have left untouched for some time now (Going on over 4 years!). I have not been able to rid my closet of these pants because I truly felt they were my inspiration to get my body back in shape. Not to mention the collection I had created over the years, I just couldn’t rid myself of the cost!

I tried them on…all of them!!!!!

The sad 3 hangers on the left are the general go-to pairs. (Note some pants are still in the laundry!)
The sad 3 hangers on the left are the general go-to pairs. (Note some pants are still in the laundry!)

I was really surprised when the very first pair slid (yeah with a little wiggle) on and I was able to button them up. 85% of them went on that way, only a small selection went on my top shelf for the,  “Yeah we need a bit more time” category. Though I am not quite ready to wear most of them to work, I am so close and I am ready to push myself harder to get there. I did find one pair that was an in-between size that I did wear today.

I was so inspired by the motivating and gracious words the trainer at the gym gave me yesterday about how well I was doing, that I had to just see if it really showed. I am so glad I did because going in to the gym this morning I was so refreshed and pushed harder than I have the last few weeks. I carried this mentality with me throughout the day and tried to spread the encouragement wherever I could.

To me this journey is really not about losing weight or fitting into a smaller size. I have had so many great things come out of this; I am creating new relationships that are helping me grow to be a better person, mom, wife, daughter, sister, etc. I have found confidence where I didn’t have it before.

I am taking these inspirations and turning them into something so that others can find the inspiration they need. It is sometimes the inspiration we see others get that can inspire us to do something we have been holding back on.

Found this taped to the mirror in the bathroom at work!
Found this taped to the mirror in the bathroom at work!
Leave a Reply

